Glitter Boy

Suitable for 11 - 12 years

Format
Paperback
gbp prices
Save £2.00
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets £1.20 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 2-3 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

You are an inspiration!” – Mariah Carey on Ian EagletonPoignant, defiantly fabulous story” – Guardian Glitter Boy is a nuanced, heart-warming and character led story of finding joy and love ” – Elle McNicoll, author of A Kind of SparkAn unflinching and ultimately uplifting read about identity, and finding the strength to be your true self. Brilliant for group discussion.” – Empathy Lab A Polari-Prize-winning author presents an unforgettable story about a boy facing up to bullying – and his own truths. James loves dancing, poetry, and Mariah Carey (not in that order, though, because Mariah would obviously be first!). His teacher, Mr Hamilton, is getting married to his boyfriend and it seems that James will be part of a surprise choir performance at the wedding. But James’s father seems uncomfortable about the plan, and a lot of other things – like any mention of Mr Hamilton, and James’s dancing, and how James talks about his new friend Joel. Meanwhile, a different boy has been harassing James at school and calling him gay, and it’s getting worse every day. James can find relief with his beloved Nan, she’s been having worrying falls, and James can’t tell anyone, or she might be sent to a faraway care home. The secrets are building up, and James is starting to lose his characteristic spark. Can he find the strength to let the truth out?

  • A joyful, raw and timely novel about family, friends, enemies, and being true to who you really are.
  • Perfect for fans of Alex Gino, A.M. Dassu, and The Boy At the Back of the Class.
  • Ian Eagleton is the author of Nen and the Lonely Fisherman, which was shortlisted for The Bookseller’s Book Of The Year – Discovery Category 2022

Product Details

Catalogue number

1145 in SCB Offer April 2024 and 2196 in Schools Catalogue 2024/25

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702317828

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

February 2nd, 2023

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.7; Middle years; 9.0 points

Other details

  • 368 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought

Promotions available

How do I use promotional codes