My Brilliant Plan to Fix Everything New by Ben Davis (author)

My Brilliant Plan to Fix Everything

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

gbp prices
Save £4.00
Offer price: £3.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £0.80 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 2-3 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

This summer, 12-year-old Alex is taking over his dad’s postal delivery job. What could go wrong? In order to get his family back together, Alex comes up with a brilliant plan: if Dad finally writes the novel he’s always talked about, he’ll be happier again and his parents will fall back in love. Dad just needs to get away from work for a while to do it. Alex tricks his dad into thinking he’s been selected for a creative sabbatical, and starts to do the postal deliveries himself. But it’s harder than Alex had ever realized, and there are the bullies who throw his letters in the canal, an overly suspicious boss, and a lot of angry dogs to avoid. He finds unexpected help in Willow, a girl on the canal who offers to share the work … but has a dark secret that might derail everything. As Alex’s ruse starts to fall apart, he needs his dad more than ever. Meanwhile, his dad comes to understand that the thing he needs most isn’t publishing a novel … it’s Alex.

  • From the Carnegie nominated author of The Soup Movement
  • Perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyle and Ben Bailey Smith
  • Based on Ben’s own experience working as a postal carrier!

PRAISE FOR BEN’S PREVIOUS BOOK, MY DAD IS DEFINITELY NOT A CRIME LORD “In a novel filled with heart and humour, told in the first person, Damian discovers what it means to be a hero. There is a depth to the story which explores themes of masculinity, family and self-awareness with a light touch.” - Just Imagine

Our July 2023 Ages 9-10 Book of the Month

Our Book of the Month for age 9+ is My Brilliant Plan to Fix Everything by the critically acclaimed Ben Davis. 12-year-old Alex is distraught when his parents separate, so he hatches a plan to get them back together! Alex tricks his dad into thinking he has been selected for a creative sabbatical to finish the novel he’s always talked about writing and become the happy man he needs to be. This leaves Alex to take over his dad’s postal delivery job, but postal work is a bit trickier than it might first seem. As the weeks go by, and the lies are piling up, Alex’s ruse starts to fall apart and he realises that successful author or not, he needs his dad more than ever.

This heartfelt novel explores difficult topics in a light-hearted and funny way while centring the strength of the bond between a father and son. Ben Davis is the Carnegie-nominated author of The Soup Movement and My Dad is Definitely Not a Crime Lord, and this latest book is based on his own experiences of working as a postal carrier. My Brilliant Plan to Fix Everything is a perfect read for fans of Frank Cottrell-Boyce and Ben Bailey Smith.

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

1157 in SCB Offer September 2023 and 261 in UK Primary Autumn 2023

ISBN

9780702315787

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

July 6th, 2023

Other details

  • 320 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought