Suitable for 12 - 18 years

Format
Hardback
gbp prices
Save £2.59
Offer price: £10.40
Rewards/RRP: £12.99

Released on 07/07/22

Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £2.08 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Jennifer A. Nielsen, award-winning author of A Night Divided and Rescue, artfully weaves together the stories of five kids living through World War I, each of whom holds the key to the others’ futures … if they are lucky – and brave – enough to find each other. World War I stretches its cruel fingers across Europe, where five young people, each from different backgrounds and nations, face the terror of battle, the deprivations of hunger, and all the awful challenges of war. Felix, from Austria-Hungary, longs for the bravery to resist Jewish deportations before his own family can be taken. Kara, from Britain, dreams of someday earning her Red Cross pin and working as a nurse – or even a doctor. Juliette, of France, hopes her family can remain knitted together, despite her father’s imprisonment, as the war’s longest battle stretches on and on. Elsa, from Germany, hopes her homing pigeon might one day bring her a friend from out of the chaos. And Dimitri, of Russia, wants only to survive the front, where he’s been sent with no weapon. None of them will find exactly what they want. But the winds of fate may cross their paths to give each of them just what they need. And in this remarkable exploration of World War I by critically acclaimed author Jennifer A. Nielsen, they will discover that friendship and courage can light the way through the most frightening of nights.

Praise for Lines of Courage: “A powerful, absorbing story that shines a light on an often overlooked chapter in human history.” – Alan Gratz, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Refugee.

  • A remarkable exploration of World War I, weaving together the extraordinary stories of five children
  • Relatable themes of loyalty, friendship and courage
  • Perfect for fans of Alan Gratz and older readers of Michael Morpurgo

Product Details

Catalogue number

1429 in SCB Offer June 2022

Format

Hardback

ISBN

9781338620931

Publisher

Scholastic US

Date published

July 7th, 2022

Lexile measure

740L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Other details

  • 400 pages

Condition

New

Customers also bought

Promotions available

How do I use promotional codes