Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

The Black Flamingo New

by Dean Atta (author)

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

gbp prices
Save £3.00
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.25 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Shortlisted for the Books Are My Bag Reader Awards 2019.

A passionate poetry novel about a gay drag artist finding his wings. Sometimes courage is wearing pink feathers and parading in flamboyant colour… Growing up isn’t easy: school, friendship, first love, one day leaving home. And for the boy in this book, there’s the added complexity of coming to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teenager. Until, at university, he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. In the past, he’s been laughed at and put down. Now he masquerades in makeup and pink feathers, and he is applauded…

  • A bold, joyful story about embracing your uniqueness
  • Fiercely told in lyrical free verse by top poet Dean Atta
  • For fans of Sarah Crossan, Kwame Alexander and The Poet X
  • Dean Atta is one of the most exciting poets in the UK today
  • His work explores topics of race, gender and LGBTQ+ identity
  • He was named “one of poetry’s greatest modern voices” by Gay Times

*Please note this book contains mature content and language more suitable for older readers.

Product Details

Catalogue number

1000 in UK Teen World Book Day 2020

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781444948608

Publisher

Hodder Children's Books

Date published

March 5th, 2020

Other details
  • 368 pages
Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review