Escape the Rooms (the laugh-out-loud funny and mind-blowingly brilliant new book for kids!) New

by Stephen Mangan (author) and Anita Mangan (illustrator)

Book of the Month

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

Format
Paperback
gbp prices
Save £2.00
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99

Out of stock - due soon

Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.00 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Unlock creativity and adventure in your class with special teaching resources, and watch videos from Stephen Mangan.

A high-energy, laugh-out-loud, fully illustrated adventure story by much-loved actor Stephen Mangan and talented artist Anita Mangan. “[Escape the Rooms] is richly imagined and deeply heartfelt, and Anita Mangan’s cartoonish and poignant illustrations capture the tone perfectly … It reminded me a little of The Wizard of Oz, with the children on a quest through different lands to get home.” Hadley Freeman, Guardian “It’s been described as a cross between Alice in Wonderland and The Crystal Maze and it manages to feel both classic and modern at the same time.” Good Housekeeping

The last thing Jack expected when he bungee-jumped at the fairground was to go plummeting right through the ground into the weird, wonderful Rooms… There he must face a series of puzzles and traps alongside a mysterious girl called Cally, in order for them to find their way home. Throw in a murderous polar bear, hundreds of tiny yet ferocious lions, some mind-blowing riddles, and get ready for a hilarious, helter-skelter adventure like no other!
  • Escape the Rooms follows two children dealing with loss on an amazing adventure.
  • Wildly funny and endlessly surprising, Escape the Rooms is also a story about friendship, overcoming fears and being kind to yourself.
  • Packed with fantastic pictures created by Stephen Mangan’s sister, Anita

Our June 2021 Ages 9-10 Book of the Month

My Book of the Month pick for June for children aged 9 and over has to be the highly anticipated Escape the Rooms. Our protagonist Jack suddenly finds himself slap-bang in the middle of the Rooms when his bungee jump plummets him right through the ground! Just like real-life escape rooms, he’s faced with puzzles, traps, mind-blowing riddles – plus a mysterious companion named Cally, a murderous polar bear and a hundred tiny ferocious lions – all in the way of finding his way out. So begins a hilarious, helter-skelter adventure like no other!

This is the debut novel from much-loved actor Stephen Mangan, paired with fantastic illustrations throughout by his talented sister, artist Anita Mangan. It’s Alice in Wonderland meets The Crystal Maze, and perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Tom Fletcher. A high-energy, laugh-out-loud, adventure story that is sure to be a firm favourite on children’s bookshelves.

Su – Book Club Editor
Su – Book Club Editor

Product Details

Catalogue number

9999 in SCB Offer June 2021 and 920 in UK Primary May 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781407193625

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

June 3rd, 2021

Other details

  • 256 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought