Suitable for 9 - 14 years

Format
Paperback
gbp prices
Price: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.40 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

The critically-acclaimed first novel from historical fiction star Lucy Strange – a perfect gift for readers aged 9 and up. CHOSEN AS ONE OF AMAZON.COM’S BEST MIDDLE-GRADE BOOKSOF 2017

CHOSEN IN THE TELEGRAPH’S TOP 10 BOOKS OF 2016

‘Perfect in so many ways.’ EMMA CARROLL

‘Tender, funny, devastating and just about word perfect.’ NATASHA FARRANT, winner of the Costa Book Award

‘Outstanding’ THE BOOKSELLER

1919. Mama is ill. Father has taken a job abroad. Nanny Jane is too busy to pay any attention to Henrietta and the things she sees - or thinks she sees – in the shadows of their new home, Hope House.

All alone, with only stories for company, Henry discovers that Hope House is full of strange secrets: a forgotten attic, ghostly figures, mysterious firelight that flickers in the trees beyond the garden.

One night she ventures into the darkness of Nightingale Wood. What she finds there will change her whole world …

A beautifully told debut with a classic feel, incorporating themes of family, loss and childhood loneliness.

Ideal for fans of Emma Carroll and Hilary McKay.

A perfect gift for readers aged 9 and up.

Product Details

Catalogue number

5168 in Books and Resources for Schools 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781910655030

Publisher

Chicken House Ltd

Date published

October 6th, 2016

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.1; Middle years; 9.0 points

Other details

  • 304 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought

Promotions available

How do I use promotional codes