Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Boy Underwater

by Adam Baron (author)

Suitable for 11 - 13 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 4 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 4/5 from 1 rating

1 review (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Sink, swim – or discover a really weird secret? Cym won’t know till he dives in… There are two weird things about Cymbeline (yes, really!). 1) He has as a weird name. 2) He’s never been swimming. Not once. Isn’t that kind of strange? So he’s a bit nervous at the prospect of his first swimming lesson. Still, how hard can it be? He’s looked up front crawl on the internet, and he’s found his dad’s old swimming trunks. He’s totally ready for this. But he’s not ready for a mishap at the pool – or the exposure of a buried family mystery. Only Cym and his friends can solve it, because (as usual) the grown-ups aren’t telling them anything. To find real answers, sometimes you have to dive deep…

  • A funny yet heartbreaking tale to make you laugh and cry
  • Perfect for fans of The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
  • Adam Baron has written four successful adult crime novels
  • He is a Channel 4 scriptwriter and MA writing course director

“One of those rare books that manages to be both very funny and heartbreakingly sad.” LoveReading4Kids

“The witty humour and dialogue are the perfect foil to the unresolved grief and anxiety that underpin this impressive debut.” Daily Mail

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780008267018

Publisher

HarperCollins

Date published

April 5th, 2018

Lexile measure

HL730L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.7; Middle years; 6.0 points

Other details
  • 320 pages
Condition

New

Reviews

  1. Samantha Thomas
    on 21 October 2018

    An emotional read!

    I read the book within a day as I was gripped. The author weaves mental health into the story from a child’s perspective but all of the sad sections are met with hilariousness and fun to keep it balanced. Who would have thought that one boys need to fit in during a school swimming lesson would lead to him taking a journey of discovery and learning the truth about his family. This story has it all – friendship, courage, longing, loss and determination – making it a must read.

    4out of 5

Add a review

Customers also bought