The Laugh Out Loud Book Awards (Lollies) 2018 shortlist has been announced! Find out more here. remove

Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

gbp prices
Price: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.75 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

War. Adventure. Danger. A world in the grip of Hitler’s icy evil. A wintry tour de force from a true master. It’s 1940. A train is under attack from German fighter planes. Sheltering in the darkness of a railway tunnel, a stranger in a carriage tells Barney and his mum a story. And what a tale it is… The true story of one man who might have stopped World War II. A young soldier fighting in the First World War trenches, twenty years before. On the spur of the moment, he did what he thought was the right thing. It turned out to be the worst mistake of his life. Can he ever put things right?

  • The latest brilliant war novel by Michael Morpurgo
  • A must for fans of War Horse and Private Peaceful
  • Inspired by the true story of soldier Henry Tandey
  • A powerful story full of moral discussion points

Product Details

Catalogue number

5727 in Schools Catalogue 2017/18

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780008134174

Publisher

HarperCollins

Date published

August 4th, 2016

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.2; Middle years; 3.0 points

Other details
  • 272 pages
Condition

New

Packs

Author/Illustrator

Michael Morpurgo

8025 morpurgo 206731

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought