Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 8 - 13 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Product Description

Ginger used to be an outsider, always on the fringes of friendship. Not any more. She’s swapped puppy fat and pigtails for make-up and hair straighteners, and never looked back – until now. Ginger and Shannon are best mates, but when they befriend lonely Emily, everything changes. Even the cute saxophone-playing boy in the trilby hat can’t help. He’s part of the problem! Are Ginger and Shannon drifting apart, or can they stay best friends forever? A gorgeously tender-hearted tale of secrets, friends and fitting in from bestselling author Cathy Cassidy.

Product Details

Format

Hardback

ISBN

9780141383279

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.3; Middle years; 7.0 points

Other details
  • 240 pages
Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Cathy Cassidy

91678 cathy cassidy 1 206735

Cathy Cassidy’s stirring teen novels have a huge following. Their optimism, realism and empathy explain their popularity, especially with girls, and are perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson.

More about Cathy: “I was born in 1962 in Coventry (scarily ancient, I know!). I wrote my first picture book for my little brother when I was eight or nine. I loved making comics, too – pages and pages of picture stories, features and competitions. I’d sell my homemade comic to a friend for 5p, then claim it back and sell it again to someone else,they didn’t have photocopiers back then!

I went to Art College in Liverpool, then got a job as fiction editor on the fab and legendary Jackie magazine. Later, I married my boyfriend Liam, went back to college and trained to be an art teacher. I taught in a Coventry secondary school for a few years, which I loved, then moved to Scotland with Liam to start a family.

My kids are 13 and 14 years old now, and the four of us live in a cottage in the Galloway hills with sheep and cows for neighbours. As well as writing books, I am the agony aunt on Shout magazine and sometimes teach art in the local primary schools, which is great fun and keeps me sane. (Well, maybe!)

I’ve been veggie for 30 years, and was vegan for 8 of them – a chocolate-eating vegan, like Storm! I love old clothes, old toys, cars, books. We have three cats, two rabbits and a mad, hairy lurcher called Kelpie (the model for Leggit in my book Dizzy).

I love my family, I love living in the middle of nowhere and I love my work. Of all my jobs, writing has to be the best – it’s the perfect excuse to daydream, after all!”

Free stuff

Try before you buy with free sample pages and first chapters, and download free classroom resources, activity sheets, quizzes and much more.

Previews

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Love stargirl 113412

    loobyloulou123
    on 9 March 2014

    This book is not for me but maybe its for you?

    2out of 5
  2. Avatar owl 761790

    bookaholic202
    on 6 March 2014

    A really lovely story about knowing your real friends.

  3. Default avatar

    Rumaitha12
    on 4 March 2014

    The book was awesome and had a great ending and unlike some books did not have a predictable ending. I liked this book lots and was worth reading. It was quite hard to stop reading the book.

    4out of 5
  4. Petula 113689

    migit1
    on 10 September 2013

    I love this book so much! It was really incredible!!!!

    5out of 5
  5. Default avatar

    natashakrywald
    on 8 March 2013

    good book

  6. Pearl 113298

    ellie-melay27
    on 7 March 2013

    kind of sad book but nether the less, amazing! 5/5

  7. Bellasara 113282

    samcharlie123
    on 4 March 2013

    This book is about Ginger Brown. When she meets the saxophone playing boy, Sam, her friend Shannon doesn’t approve. She starts to drift off with Emily, and Ginger feels left out.

    This is a good book by Cathy Cassidy, well worth a read.

    4out of 5
  8. Fairy thumb 11

    MagicStar25
    on 25 February 2012

    I thought this book was really good and if you like Cathy Cassidy after this book you’ll love her!

    5out of 5
  9. Default avatar

    gethi
    on 3 March 2011

    love it!

    5out of 5
  10. Abigail 113288

    UltimateBookWorm
    on 3 March 2011

    This book is about friendship and how it is a blessing and a curse….

    5out of 5
  11. Bellasara 113282

    iluvcanada
    on 2 November 2010

    Excellent

    5out of 5
  12. Love stargirl 113412

    romance
    on 6 January 2009

    It’s a super book! I recomend everyone to read it! When Ginger feels sad so do i. If you haven’t read this book u are missing loads of fun!!!!! (-:

    5out of 5
  13. Clarice thumb 136

    JenJen
    on 12 November 2008

    I thought this was a brilliant book! I loved the way it seemed so real! I think that Cassy is a wonderful author!

    5out of 5
  14. Petula 113689

    Koala315
    on 30 October 2008

    This book is an amazing book, full of up’s and downs and twists and turns. I think people who have read all her other books will agree that it’s one of the best out of Cathy Cassidy’s collection so far. It’s abouot a girl called Ginger who was always an outsider ini primary school and was bullied by Chelsie Martin and her gang. When she moves into high school things start to change. Ginger meets a girl called Shannon who looks like a princess withe her long blond hair all sleek and glossy. Shannon takes a liking to Ginger and they become best friends. In primary school Shannon had two friends, Emily and Meg and when Ginger hears Emily crying in the toilet she is too nice just to ignore her. It turns out that Meg has moved away. Shannon thinks it would be a good idea to give Emily a makeover but Ginger isn’t behind it but Shannon decides to do it anyway…...

    Lot's of  exciting things happen in this book and  I would reccomend it to any Cathy Cassidy fans and Jacqueline Wilson fans. I would rate this book Five Star.
  15. Jane blonde 113694

    gingersnaps
    on 29 October 2008

    I loved this book and would recomend it to anyone.The best bit is when Shannon holds a party.I also liked the romantic bits.

    5out of 5
  16. Love stargirl 113412

    wormy01
    on 18 September 2008

    I thought gingersnaps was a brilliant book.It was very emotional and funny.Also it was very exiting and every page would make you want to read on.

    5out of 5
  17. Hayley 113303

    vjganda05
    on 12 September 2008

    its not good its the BEST!!! i so luv it even when the part it was so sad that made me cry some were funny that made me cry with laughter its the best i love it i love it i love it! this would make me chat so much well oh fine about it i dont want to chat a lot!

    5out of 5
  18. Evie 113313

    BookSmartie
    on 7 September 2008

    Gingersnaps was so fun to read! Ginger became a new person in secondary school. Then one boy brings all her past back! It was funny, sad, emotional and typical teenage stuff!

    5out of 5