Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 11 - 18 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Product Description

A ragdoll, a postcard from Marrakech, a rainbow-stripe hat, a dreamcatcher, a silver necklace with a pink stone in… Every birthday brings a special gift from Dizzy’s mum. Dizzy has faithfully kept everything, every gift and card from the mother who left when she was small. But this year is different. This year’s present is Mum herself, in person. Tanned and skinny, with loads of earrings and a huge smile, Storm is a human whirlwind… and she whisks Dizzy away for a summer that puts her whole world in a spin.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780141338866

Publisher

Puffin

Date published

June 2nd, 2011

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.4; Middle years; 6.0 points

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Cathy Cassidy

91678 cathy cassidy 1 206735

Cathy Cassidy’s stirring teen novels have a huge following. Their optimism, realism and empathy explain their popularity, especially with girls, and are perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson.

More about Cathy: “I was born in 1962 in Coventry (scarily ancient, I know!). I wrote my first picture book for my little brother when I was eight or nine. I loved making comics, too – pages and pages of picture stories, features and competitions. I’d sell my homemade comic to a friend for 5p, then claim it back and sell it again to someone else,they didn’t have photocopiers back then!

I went to Art College in Liverpool, then got a job as fiction editor on the fab and legendary Jackie magazine. Later, I married my boyfriend Liam, went back to college and trained to be an art teacher. I taught in a Coventry secondary school for a few years, which I loved, then moved to Scotland with Liam to start a family.

My kids are 13 and 14 years old now, and the four of us live in a cottage in the Galloway hills with sheep and cows for neighbours. As well as writing books, I am the agony aunt on Shout magazine and sometimes teach art in the local primary schools, which is great fun and keeps me sane. (Well, maybe!)

I’ve been veggie for 30 years, and was vegan for 8 of them – a chocolate-eating vegan, like Storm! I love old clothes, old toys, cars, books. We have three cats, two rabbits and a mad, hairy lurcher called Kelpie (the model for Leggit in my book Dizzy).

I love my family, I love living in the middle of nowhere and I love my work. Of all my jobs, writing has to be the best – it’s the perfect excuse to daydream, after all!”

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Abigail 113288

    bee100xxx
    on 9 March 2014

    Dizzy’s Mum never forgets her daughter’s birthday, even if she does not live with Dizzy anymore! There is rag dolls, cards, all sorts of gifts she sends and Dizzy always keeps them. But this year is way different, Dizzy’s birthday present is her mum herself, inviting her to spend a summer with her. Dizzy accepts, of course. But is her Dad OK with it?....

    5out of 5
  2. Love stargirl 113412

    loobyloulou123
    on 9 March 2014

    The best book in history of books

    5out of 5
  3. Avatar owl 761790

    sopsicles
    on 5 July 2013

    My favorite book :)

  4. Gruffalo 113679

    Too-Amazayn
    on 9 March 2013

    Dizzy is the first book I read but Cathy Cassidy and I really enjoyed it.

    4out of 5
  5. Default avatar

    natashakrywald
    on 8 March 2013

    recommend for teenage girls

  6. Avatar lion 761782

    Sherlock25
    on 5 March 2013

    A great girly read :)

  7. Fairy thumb 11

    xxChocolateBoxGirlxx
    on 5 March 2013

    Amazing!!! you have to read this book

  8. Default avatar

    bella8899
    on 17 March 2012

    i hate it because i never read it ha ha ha!

    1out of 5
  9. Witchdog thumb 22

    maevelove
    on 14 March 2012

    Dizzy was the first Cathy Cassidy book thet i ever read and it encouraged me to read all the rest of her books i absoulutly loved this book (i probaly spelt absoulutly wrong so sorry about that) and i would highly recommend it (i think i spelt recommend right) Maybe you should try read Dizzy for your first Cathy Cassidy book. :D

    5out of 5
  10. Hayley 113303

    ToxicTiger
    on 1 March 2012

    This book was amazing. Storm, Dizzy’s mum, flies into her world and takes her away for a magical summer. But how will it end?

  11. Lion 113522

    flossy1998
    on 19 September 2011

    Cathy Cassidy is like Jacqueline Wilson , but with a twist. I totally recomend Cathy Cassidy’s books I just started to read the collection and I honestly find it amazing ! truss this book is #wicked

    5out of 5