Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
gbp prices
Save £2.00
Offer price: £7.99
Rewards/RRP: £9.99
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets £1.60 to spend on books

This item has 4 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 4/5 from 4 ratings

1 review (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 2-3 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

A graphic novel about friendship, belonging and feeling comfortable in your own skin! Trying out for middle school cheerleader means: performing in the giant school gym, with the whole school watching, and risking total humiliation. If Christina can make it through this, she can make it through anything. As one of the only Asian American kids in her small Texas town, Christina just wants to fit in. Luckily, her best friend, Megan, who is Iranian American, can totally relate. The two girls have always been inseparable and relish creating elaborate fantasy worlds together. But middle school is a reality-check, and suddenly popularity is way more important than playing pretend. When cheerleading tryouts are announced, Christina and Megan literally jump at the chance to join the squad. But does fitting in actually equal belonging? Will they survive the terrifying tryouts? And most importantly, will their friendship withstand the pressures of heated competition and rivalry?

  • Hilarious and heartfelt, The Tryout is Christina Soontornvat’s personal story, sure to make you laugh, cry, and cheer!
  • From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao
  • Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

Product Details

Catalogue number

916 in SCB Offer April 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781338741261

Publisher

Scholastic US

Date published

December 8th, 2022

Lexile measure

GN360L

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 3.2; Middle years; 2.0 points

Other details

  • 272 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

  1. Emma
    on 25 March 2023

    The Tryout

    Really good book Exceeded my expectations.

    5 out of 5

Add a review

Customers also bought