The Cost of Knowing New

by Brittney Morris (author)

Suitable for 14 - 18 years

Format
Paperback
gbp prices
Save £3.00
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99

Out of stock - due 11/03/21

Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.00 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

From the acclaimed author of SLAY, comes a gripping novel, about brothers, grief, and what it means to be a young Black man in America. For fans of Dear Martin and They Both Die at the End.

Sixteen year old Alex Rufus lives with his younger brother, Isaiah, in a quiet neighbourhood in Chicago. But recently, the neighbours are on high-alert – whenever they see someone they don’t think looks safe, they take matters into their own hands, often calling the cops without reason.

Alex starts taking on more shifts at the local ice-cream shop, Scoops, and spending time with his girlfriend, Talia. But then, Alex starts experiencing visions of the future whenever he touches objects or the people around him. And when he picks up a family photo, he has a vision that his younger brother, Isaiah, is going to die – he can’t tell how, but he knows it will be soon.

All Alex wants is to protect Isiah, but how can he protect him in the present, when he knows the dangers of the future? And how will he ensure Isaiah’s place in it, when the one place he felt protected, his neigbourhood, doesn’t feel like home anymore?

A story that speaks to hard truths about race, prejudice, and the inherent injustice that permeates the world we live in.

Product Details

Catalogue number

934 in UK Teen Spring 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781444951745

Publisher

Hodder Children's Books

Date published

March 4th, 2021

Other details

  • 352 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought