Suitable for 11 - 18 years

Format
Paperback
gbp prices
Price: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.60 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

‘Oh God! All those months of not being able to write! Of not being allowed to write. Knowing I’d be shot if I were caught.’

Nominated for both the Costa Award and shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal, Rose Under Fire tells the thrilling story of one young ATA pilot’s unforgettable journey through World War Two.

Rose Justice is a young American ATA pilot, delivering planes and taxiing pilots for the RAF in the UK during the summer of 1944. A budding poet who feels most alive while flying, she discovers that not all battles are fought in the air. An unforgettable journey from innocence to experience from the author of the New York Times bestseller, Code Name Verity. From the exhilaration of being the youngest pilot in the British air transport auxiliary, to the aftermath of surviving the notorious Ravensbruck women’s concentration camp, Rose’s story is one of courage in the face of adversity.

Elizabeth Wein is a leading voice in young adult historical fiction. Look out for her other books Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven.

Fans of The Book Thief and Carmen Reid’s Cross My Heart will love this.

Elizabeth Wein was born in New York, and grew up in England, Jamaica and Pennsylvania. She is married with two children and now lives in Perth, Scotland.

Elizabeth is a member of the Ninety-Nines, the International Organization of Women Pilots. She was awarded the Scottish Aero Club’s Watson Cup for best student pilot in 2003 and it was her love of flying that partly inspired the idea for her bestselling, award-winning novel Code Name Verity.

Praise for Code Name Verity:

“It does more than stick with me. It haunts me. I just can’t recommend it enough” Maggie Stiefvater, bestselling author of Shiver

“I was bereft when I finished it” Jill Mansell

“It’s about friendship and bravery, loyalty and love, and will most definitely leave you sobbing” The Bookseller

“This is a remarkable book” Daily Mail

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781405278416

Publisher

Egmont Books Ltd

Date published

February 26th, 2015

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought