Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 11 - 18 years

gbp prices
Price: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.75 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Product Description

Jude’s crazy mum and Elvis-impersonating dad aren’t easy to live with. Sometimes, she finds herself longing for just a bit of normality. But when life feels like a trail of broken promises, could a floppy-haired knight on shiny rollerblades swoop to her rescue? A deliciously quirky story of romance and family life from bestselling author Cathy Cassidy.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780141338934

Lexile measure

750L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.4; Middle years; 7.0 points

Condition

New

Packs

Author/Illustrator

Cathy Cassidy

91678 cathy cassidy 1 206735

Cathy Cassidy’s stirring teen novels have a huge following. Their optimism, realism and empathy explain their popularity, especially with girls, and are perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson.

More about Cathy: “I was born in 1962 in Coventry (scarily ancient, I know!). I wrote my first picture book for my little brother when I was eight or nine. I loved making comics, too – pages and pages of picture stories, features and competitions. I’d sell my homemade comic to a friend for 5p, then claim it back and sell it again to someone else,they didn’t have photocopiers back then!

I went to Art College in Liverpool, then got a job as fiction editor on the fab and legendary Jackie magazine. Later, I married my boyfriend Liam, went back to college and trained to be an art teacher. I taught in a Coventry secondary school for a few years, which I loved, then moved to Scotland with Liam to start a family.

My kids are 13 and 14 years old now, and the four of us live in a cottage in the Galloway hills with sheep and cows for neighbours. As well as writing books, I am the agony aunt on Shout magazine and sometimes teach art in the local primary schools, which is great fun and keeps me sane. (Well, maybe!)

I’ve been veggie for 30 years, and was vegan for 8 of them – a chocolate-eating vegan, like Storm! I love old clothes, old toys, cars, books. We have three cats, two rabbits and a mad, hairy lurcher called Kelpie (the model for Leggit in my book Dizzy).

I love my family, I love living in the middle of nowhere and I love my work. Of all my jobs, writing has to be the best – it’s the perfect excuse to daydream, after all!”

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Stargirl 113407

    kissy9901
    on 20 March 2014

    I loved this book because it is full of surprises. Cathy Cassidy is a great author.

    5out of 5
  2. Bellasara 113282

    tomgates27
    on 17 March 2014

    i have read this but not as good as her other books

    4out of 5
  3. Love stargirl 113412

    loobyloulou123
    on 9 March 2014

    It is definitely the saddest book I’ve ever read but one of the best. It is heart warming and breaking and exciting.

    4out of 5
  4. Avatar owl 761790

    bookaholic202
    on 9 March 2014

    its so sad when her amnesiac granny dies. BUT IT ALL WORKS OUT IN THE END!

  5. Default avatar

    natashakrywald
    on 8 March 2013

    okay

  6. Pearl 113298

    ellie-melay27
    on 7 March 2013

    good book , can relate to things in here 5/5 . recommend it to 12+

  7. Fairy thumb 11

    xxChocolateBoxGirlxx
    on 5 March 2013

    This book is fabulous. Its about a girl called Jude who is shy with a messed up life.Jude’s dad thinks he’s Elvis, her mum has drinking issues. Her mother tells her that she will stop smoking and drinking but her mum says she cant help it and she is on the verge of drinking herself to death, and her Grandma has an illness where she forgets things all the time.She then meets a boy with floppy hair on roller blades, maybe he can help her and her her knight in shining armour…

    5out of 5
  8. Room on the broom 113684

    kkitt-kkatt
    on 4 March 2013

    Jude is so sweet. whta happened was really scary but an adventure. i loved the book

  9. Stargirl 113407

    stupendousteen
    on 4 March 2013

    a great and funny book. it was FAB.

    5out of 5
  10. Avatar owl 761790

    Strawberrypig12
    on 6 August 2012

    I got this from the library and it was so good I read it in a day! Great book reccomend for ages 11 and up!

    5out of 5
  11. Evie 113313

    nikki657
    on 6 March 2012

    great book

  12. Bellasara 113282

    KityyKat1207
    on 10 January 2012

    This book is fantastic and v. sad coz her grandma dies.

    5out of 5
  13. Avatar owl 761790

    CarribbeanCuba
    on 13 September 2011

    I haven’t read this book yet but i love Cathy Cassidy. I have only read two of her books; Dizzy and Lucky Star.

    This book looks’ really good :D

  14. Stargirl 113407

    mimis642
    on 2 June 2011

    poor mum of sundae girl aww and the skateboard boy xxx

    5out of 5