Suitable for 11 - 18 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating

1 review (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

‘A great debut. You’ll be itching to read more.’ Anthony Horowitz

Meet Itch – an accidental, accident-prone hero. Science is his weapon. Elements are his gadgets. All-action adventure perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Young Bond.

Itchingham Lofte – known as Itch – is fourteen, and loves science, especially chemistry. He’s also an element-hunter: he’s collecting all the elements in the periodic table. Which has some interesting and rather destructive results in his bedroom.

Then, Itch makes a discovery. A new element, never seen before. At first no one believes him – but soon someone hears about the strange new rock and wants it for himself. And Itch and his family are catapulted into a breathless adventure with terrifyingly high stakes . . .

The debut novel from BBC radio presenter Simon Mayo.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780552565509

Publisher

Corgi Childrens

Date published

October 25th, 2012

Lexile measure

810L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.8; Middle years plus; 14.0 points

Condition

New

Reviews

  1. Nicola
    on 17 March 2013

    Itch

    Itch is an exciting action packed story involving the periodic table and the exciting possibilities of the chemical elements. Ideal for Year 7 children who are visiting a chemistry lab with a poster of the periodic table on the wall, it will help them understand what the periodic table means and why the elements excite chemists. Science teachers having a large scrap in the chemistry lab is fun too! Parents reading may be shocked at the elements Itch has managed to obtain samples of, the highly poisonous arsenic for example, but his knowledge and in an emergency his use of the elements is educational and thrilling.

    5out of 5

Add a review

What kids think

  1. georgeyfish
    on 14 March 2013

    1 word to explain the book – EPIC! I was literally COUNTING DOWN to 2013 for the next ICH novel! Simon Mayo rocks!

    5out of 5
  2. thunderball72
    on 8 March 2013

    Awesome read!

  3. Paradise56
    on 6 March 2013

    this book dragged on a bit not a good book

  4. rahul2313
    on 6 March 2013

    the coolest book ever verry scary

  5. Nashdasher
    on 5 March 2013

    This a great book and loads of science stuff can not wait for the next one

    5out of 5
  6. natashakrywald
    on 5 March 2013

    very good book. liked it alot

  7. bouncybunny
    on 5 March 2013

    My science teacher recomened this book I thought it was an great book now I’m just waiting for my mum to get me get the second one

  8. ALBERTEIN
    on 3 March 2013

    Best book ever in the world. Am really looking forward to the sequel.

    5out of 5
  9. totalbookworm
    on 2 March 2013

    Itch, what a funny title, I thought when I first saw it. However, the Carnegie Competition at school meant I have to read every single book in the list. When I first started reading it I thought that I can really relate to this book, mainly because Itch is a science freak, like me. Obviously I don’t go around collecting elements, but like Itch, I think it’s very interesting. At first I found it quite boring, but looking at all the great comments my friends wrote about this book, I carried on reading it. Once I reached the part when Itch finds the rocks, I was totally absorbed in it. This is definately one of the best books I have ever read, and I totally loved it.

    5out of 5
  10. bugzy72
    on 27 February 2013

    i think it was a wonderful but thrilling book that anyone that or doesn’t like science will adore this book

    5out of 5