The Raven Cycle #1: The Raven Boys

by Maggie Stiefvater (author)

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

gbp prices
Save £1.60
Offer price: £6.39
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.28 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This item has 4 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 4/5 from 1 rating

1 review (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

The first electrifying book in Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle series. “There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve… Either you’re his true love… or you killed him.” Part of a clairvoyant family, Blue has spent sixteen years being told that if she kisses her true love, he will die. So when she meets Gansey’s spirit on the corpse road, Blue knows that either he is her true love – or she has killed him. The boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her. His name is Gansey, and he is a student at Aglionby, a wealthy local private school. With three other mysterious and privileged boys, he is on a quest to find the grave of Glendower – a Welsh king buried somewhere on a Virginia ley line. Whoever finds him will be granted a supernatural favour. Never before has Blue felt such magic around her. But is Gansey really her true love – the one she is destined to kill? Blue never fully believed in the prophecy. But as she is caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

  • Absolutely addictive writing for teen girls… and grown-up girls… Magic, mystery and adventure at every turn
  • From the bestselling author of Shiver, Linger and Forever which all debuted at #1 on the UK book bestseller charts
  • Film rights to The Raven Cycle have been acquired

Product Details


The Raven Cycle (book 1)







Date published

September 19th, 2012

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.4; Upper years; 16.0 points

Other details

  • 464 pages




Maggie Stiefvater

Photo of Maggie Stiefvater

Activities & resources


  1. Shakira, Book Club Review Team
    on 24 February 2014

    Amazing storyline

    The book tells the story of Blue, who has been told if she kisses her true love, he will die. So when she meets Gansey’s spirit she knows it can be either two reasons – he is her true love or she’s already killed him.

    In her determination to find out the truth, Blue joins the Raven Boys; four boys from the local private school led by Gansey who are on a supernatural quest. So is Gansey her true love? And if she is the reason for his death where will fate lead them?

    I’m not really a fan of this style of writing and genre of books but I was surprised to find I really enjoyed it. The storyline was amazing and the characters all came together. At times it did get quite confusing as the author had incorporated several viewpoints into the story.

    I liked how the writer included a magical and supernatural aspect to the story but only just so the impact would still make the story believable. Even though we all know trees can’t speak Latin the writer had a way of twisting it into the story so to readers it still felt as though we were in the real world.

    I highly recommend this book to all teenagers.

    My star rating is 4 out of 5 due to points where I’d zone out due to confusion on which character was speaking.

    4out of 5

Add a review

Customers also bought