Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

The Boy at the Back of the Class Award-winning

by Onjali Q. Rauf (author)

Suitable for 11 - 14 years

gbp prices
Save £3.00
Offer price: £3.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99

Temporarily out of stock - due soon

Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.00 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This item has 4 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 4/5 from 4 ratings

3 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Winner of the 2019 Blue Peter Best Story Award.

Winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2019.

There used to be an empty chair at the back of the class. Now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it. He’s nine years old, like the others, but he’s very strange. He never talks and hardly smiles and doesn’t like sweets – not even lemon sherbets! But Ahmet isn’t really strange. He’s a refugee who has run away from a war. A real war, with bombs and fires and soldiers who hurt people. And when Ahmet’s classmates find out the truth, they decide they want to help. Which is why they’ve come up with a brilliant plan…

  • An uplifting refugee story with a message of kindness
  • Told in a child’s voice full of heart, hope and humour
  • The debut novel of activist and campaigner Onjali Rauf
  • Perfect for fans of Once and The Unforgotten Coat

“Raul’s book is at once tearjerking and chuckle-inducing and will go a long way to restore faith in human nature.” Sunday Post

Product Details

Catalogue number

8404 in Secondary Schools Catalogue 2019/20, 731 in UK Primary Summer 2020 and 5102 in Primary Schools Catalogue 2019/20

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781510105010

Publisher

Orion Children's Books

Date published

July 5th, 2018

Lexile measure

940L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.4; Middle years; 9.0 points

Other details
  • 256 pages
Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

  1. Niamh bartley
    on 23 April 2020

    Loved it!!

    I have to say I loved reading this to my boys. It's such a lovely story about friendship, kindness, selflessness and courage. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. It's so well written. My boys said it was the best story they ever heard, they loved it. I will definitely buy more books from this new Author

    5out of 5
  2. Katie
    on 15 March 2020

    10/10

    I would like to buy this because I think it is eye catching

  3. Reba Khatun
    on 19 February 2020

    Tearjerker

    I cried when I read this book. It was so beautifully written and left a positive message.
    A new boy has started at school and the main character is trying to befriend him although he doesn't speak a word of English.
    Cleverly written, with a few twists on the way.

    5out of 5

Add a review

Customers also bought