Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Behind the Walls: A City Besieged

by Nicola Pierce (author)

Suitable for 10 - 13 years

gbp prices
Price: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £2.00 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Derry, 1689. A small walled city up north. A small city that’s about to become the crux of a war between three mighty kings. The nightmare begins on the day an anonymous letter is read out: a terrifying letter that says every last Protestant man, woman and child is to be murdered. Panic takes hold. The Catholic army is galloping in. Daniel and Robert, two teenage brothers, rush to close the city gates – in the nick of time. Now the siege has begun. Bombs rain down. Behind the walls, people are trapped; injured, dying, starving. Soon they’re also fighting each other. But there’s no going back…

  • A superbly gripping and vivid fictional tale of the Derry siege
  • By the acclaimed author of City of Fate and Kings of the Boyne
  • Effortlessly blends historical facts with raw human emotions
  • Ideal for fans of My Story, Siobhan Dowd and Theresa Breslin

“A very strong story … a deeply thought provoking book that works at many levels, not least as a well-researched and written historical novel … not a light read but it is a very memorable one.” School Librarian

“Highlights how far humanity can fall and, ultimately, how far it can soar in the face of adversity.” Children’s Books Ireland Recommended Reading Guide

Product Details

Catalogue number

5455 in Schools Catalogue - Primary UK 2018/19

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781847176462

Publisher

O'Brien Press Ltd

Date published

March 5th, 2015

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 6.3; Middle years plus; 13.0 points

Other details
  • 368 pages
Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought