Get £10 off book orders over £40 with promo code BLACKFRIDAY until 24th November. Exclusions apply. remove

Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 9 - 12 years

gbp prices
Save £2.00
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.25 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Product Description

Jacky’s first ever Second World War story! The dreamy, touching tale of an evacuee leaving home and finding a new place to belong. It’s 1939. The war has just started, and ten-year-old Shirley is being sent away on a train with her schoolmates. She doesn’t know where she’s going, or what’ll happen to her when she gets there. All she’s been told is that she’s going on ‘a little holiday’. Soon Shirley finds herself billeted in the country, with two boys – Kevin and Archie – from the East End of London. But living in the strange, half-empty Red House, under the eye of the mysterious and reclusive Mrs Waverley, is an experience that will change Shirley forever…

  • A stunning World War Two story from a beloved author
  • Brings the war alive in a tale of friendship and courage
  • For fans of Hetty Feather and Goodnight Mister Tom
  • Jacqueline Wilson has sold over 35 million books

Product Details

Catalogue number

8189 in Secondary Rewards 2017/18, 5639 in Schools Catalogue 2017/18, 1008 in November Teen 2017 and 689 in November Primary UK 2017

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780440871514

Publisher

Yearling (imprint of Random House Children's Books)

Date published

February 1st, 2018

Other details
  • 464 pages
Condition

New

Packs

Author/Illustrator

Jacqueline Wilson

24424 jacqueline wilson 1 206738

Nick Sharratt

4691 nick sharratt 1 206734

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought