Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

gbp prices
Price: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.75 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Product Description

It’s 1987, and Ira and Zac are being uprooted to Skilly House, a children’s home. It’s tough being a care kid, and Ira reckons that if life doesn’t get better (or at least more interesting) she’s going to start inventing witches and castles and stuff like that. But as it turns out, she doesn’t have to. Life gets exciting all by itself… Set against a turbulent 1980s background of social upheaval and poll tax riots, this is a sad yet hopeful tale of growing up and learning to believe in yourself.

  • A memorable and moving debut from a stellar new talent
  • A tale of growing up, making friends and finding a home
  • Published to huge acclaim from critics and the public
  • Ideal for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Elizabeth Laird

“This remarkable debut novel reads as if written by an experienced children’s author at the height of her powers.” Sunday Times

A truly, truly, truly lovely story…. Uplifting and heartwarming without ever being twee.” Bookbag

Product Details

Catalogue number

8346 in Secondary Rewards 2017/18 and 5643 in Schools Catalogue 2017/18

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780857633996

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Date published

May 5th, 2016

Lexile measure

750L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Other details
  • 208 pages
Condition

New

Packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought