If your school is open for delivery over the summer, please email us at enquiries@scholastic.co.uk with your online order number so that your order is not automatically held until the start of the Autumn term. Please note that due to safe working practices in respect of COVID-19, delivery times may be slightly delayed. remove

Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

The Thing About Jellyfish

by Ali Benjamin (author)

Suitable for 12 - 15 years

gbp prices
£6.99
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets £1.40 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

It’s peculiar how no-words can be better than words. How silence can say more than noise, or a person’s absence can occupy even more space than their presence did. Suzy is twelve when her best friend, Franny, drowns one summer at the beach. It takes two days for the news to reach Suzy, and it’s not something that she can accept: Franny has always been a strong swimmer, from the day they met in swim class when they were just five. How can someone all of a sudden, just no longer be there? Suzy realizes that they must have got it wrong: Franny didn’t just drown – she was stung by a poisonous jellyfish. This makes a lot more sense to Suzy’s logical mind than a random drowning – cause: a jellyfish sting; effect: death. Suzy’s journey to acceptance is quiet – she resolves to either say something important, or say nothing at all. But it’s also bursting with bittersweet humour, heart-breaking honesty, big ideas and small details. The Thing About Jellyfish is an astonishing debut novel from Ali Benjamin, and is perfect for fans of Wonder, Counting By 7s and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece.

Product Details

Catalogue number

8409 in Secondary Schools Catalogue 2019/20

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781447291251

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books

Date published

September 1st, 2016

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.0; Middle years; 7.0 points

Other details
  • 256 pages
Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought