Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 7 - 9 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Product Description

Meet the one and only Daizy Star! She’s spent years looking for her star quality, trying to live up to her name. But now Daizy is sure she’s finally found her special talent. She’s modelling at the school fashion show, and she’s determined to make her mark. Unfortunately, Dad’s latest crazy scheme is threatening to ruin her big break. Can Daizy stop him from turning her family into castaways on a remote and rainy Scottish island? And will she be able to turn herself into a top supermodel in time for the fashion show? Is Daizy about to shoot to fame – or become a catwalk catastrophe?

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780141335971

Publisher

Puffin Books

Date published

June 2nd, 2011

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.1; Middle years; 4.0 points

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Cathy Cassidy

91678 cathy cassidy 1 206735

Cathy Cassidy’s stirring teen novels have a huge following. Their optimism, realism and empathy explain their popularity, especially with girls, and are perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson.

More about Cathy: “I was born in 1962 in Coventry (scarily ancient, I know!). I wrote my first picture book for my little brother when I was eight or nine. I loved making comics, too – pages and pages of picture stories, features and competitions. I’d sell my homemade comic to a friend for 5p, then claim it back and sell it again to someone else,they didn’t have photocopiers back then!

I went to Art College in Liverpool, then got a job as fiction editor on the fab and legendary Jackie magazine. Later, I married my boyfriend Liam, went back to college and trained to be an art teacher. I taught in a Coventry secondary school for a few years, which I loved, then moved to Scotland with Liam to start a family.

My kids are 13 and 14 years old now, and the four of us live in a cottage in the Galloway hills with sheep and cows for neighbours. As well as writing books, I am the agony aunt on Shout magazine and sometimes teach art in the local primary schools, which is great fun and keeps me sane. (Well, maybe!)

I’ve been veggie for 30 years, and was vegan for 8 of them – a chocolate-eating vegan, like Storm! I love old clothes, old toys, cars, books. We have three cats, two rabbits and a mad, hairy lurcher called Kelpie (the model for Leggit in my book Dizzy).

I love my family, I love living in the middle of nowhere and I love my work. Of all my jobs, writing has to be the best – it’s the perfect excuse to daydream, after all!”

Free stuff

Try before you buy with free sample pages and first chapters, and download free classroom resources, activity sheets, quizzes and much more.

Previews

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Default avatar

    natashakrywald
    on 8 March 2013

    very good

  2. Jane blonde 113694

    lap312i
    on 6 March 2013

    i like the cover. it catches my eye

  3. Pearl 113298

    Dostine
    on 2 March 2013

    Strike a Pose, Daizy Star

    Meet the one and only Daizy Star! She’s spent years looking for her star quality, trying to live up to her name. But now Daizy is sure she’s finally found her special talent. She’s modelling at the school fashion show, and she’s determined to make her mark. Unfortunately, Dad’s latest crazy scheme is threatening to ruin her big break. Can Daizy stop him from turning her family into castaways on a remote and rainy Scottish island? And will she be able to turn herself into a top supermodel in time for the fashion show? Is Daizy about to shoot to fame – or become a catwalk catastrophe?

  4. Pearl 113298

    masha6510
    on 18 February 2013

    Really good book, fantastic! I could not put it down…

    3out of 5
  5. Default avatar

    AmyXx
    on 6 March 2012

    Great book!

  6. Default avatar

    aeroaeromonkey
    on 1 March 2012

    Soooo great.

    4out of 5
  7. Hayley 113303

    ToxicTiger
    on 1 March 2012

    This book is pretty good. Daizy want’s to model in the fashion show, but as usual Dad’s plans threaten to ruin it….

  8. Default avatar

    mmmcool123
    on 2 November 2011

    This book is really good and enjoyable. I think everyone should read this book.

    5out of 5