Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 7 - 9 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £25 or over
  • £3.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £25

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Shocking, moving and based on real life. Gill Lewis will stun you with this emotive story of Asia’s tortured bears. Did you know that in Vietnam, China and many other Asian countries, bears are farmed for their bile – a liquid that comes from their liver? It’s true. Kept in tiny cages all their lives, often unable even to stand up or turn round. Can you imagine such cruelty? Now Gill Lewis, the author of Sky Hawk, tells a powerful story based on the suffering of these bears. Tam is a young boy forced to work on a bile farm, who befriends a bear cub. Can Tam help the cub escape – and give the bears their freedom?

“A moving animal adventure beautifully told, and perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo.” TBK Magazine

“A powerful and inspirational book.” Daily Mail

We say:

‘Gill Lewis is one of the most exciting new writers around. She writes powerful, inspirational adventures about relationships, wildlife issues and making the right choices. If you’re a Michael Morpurgo fan then you’ll love this.’ Kate, Scholastic Book Clubs

You say:

‘I just couldn’t put it down! I rate this book 10/10, Lewis wrote the book from the heart, it makes you cry, get angry, fearful and it’s like you are actually in the middle of it all.’ Ben, aged 13

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780192737106

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.2; Upper years; 8.0 points

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Gill Lewis

146456 gill lewis 1 1066205

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Hayley 113303

    Spidergirl
    on 7 March 2014

    This book really is good and make u sad n happy well recommend

    5out of 5
  2. Default avatar

    books2000
    on 6 March 2014

    its good