We are experiencing intermittent issues with our payment provider. Please try again if your transaction is not successful. remove

Little Bird Flies

by Karen McCombie (author)

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

gbp prices
Price: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.40 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 5-7 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Nominated for the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal

Bridie lives on the remote Scottish island of Tornish, the youngest of three sisters. Although she loves her island, with its wild seas and big skies, she guiltily nurses a secret dream of flight – to America and the freedom of the New World. But her family are struggling under the spiteful oppression of the new Laird, and it seems that even some of the Laird’s own household are desperate to leave. When the Laird’s full cruelty becomes apparent, there’s no more time for daydreams as Bridie needs to help the people she loves escape to safety.

The first in a gripping, dramatic new series from much-loved author, Karen McCombie.”This involving, evocative tale, narrated by Bridie with a hint of period language, is a study of rich and poor, offering clearly-drawn characters.”- Nicolette Jones, Sunday Times, Children’s Book of the Week

“There’s heart in this Scottish adventure. . . This is (Karen’s) best. It has a vivid setting, emotional punch and characters to really care about.” – Alex O’Connell, The Times, Children’s Book of the Week

“It may all seem a far cry from the “slushy, gushy love songs” of Ally’s World. And yet here, as there, McCombie displays her gift, which is to create a narrator who sounds thoroughly convincing, and to inhabit the consciousness of a child.” Emily Bearn, The Telegraph

“Little Bird Flies by Karen McCombie is the evocative and beautifully written tale of Bridie (Little Bird) who dreams of a bigger life than the one she’s destined for on her tiny Scottish isle of Tornish. With themes of immigration and prejudice and characters you’ll root for, this will appeal to fans of Emma Carroll and Marie-Louise Jensen.” – Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic

Product Details

Catalogue number

6244 in Books and Resources for Schools 2021

ISBN

9780857639103

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Date published

January 3rd, 2019

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 6.4; Middle years plus; 9.0 points

Other details

  • 240 pages

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Karen McCombie

Photo of Karen McCombie

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought