Once Upon a Fever by Angharad Walker (author)

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

gbp prices
Save £1.59
Offer price: £6.40
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering
  • More information about Scholastic Rewards

    Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.28 to spend on books Orders of £10 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school. Find out more about Scholastic Rewards

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE UK delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE UK delivery on orders £30 or over
  • £4.95 delivery charge on UK orders under £30.00

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

UK delivery within 2-3 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

A stunning fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and shortlisted for the Waterstones Book Prize 2023.

‘A dark, clever, enthralling fantasy’ THEGUARDIAN

‘This is a book to escape into’ THE IRISHTIMES

‘[Walker] has drawn a vivid magic-ravaged world’ SFX

Since the world fell sick with fantastical illnesses, sisters Payton and Ani have grown up in the hospital of King Jude’s.

Payton wants to be a methic like her father, working on a cure for her mother’s sleeping fever. Ani, however, thinks the remedy for all illness might be found in the green wilderness beyond the hospital walls.

When Ani stumbles upon an imprisoned boy who turns everything he touches to gold, her world is turned upside-down. The girls find themselves outside the hospital for the first time, a dark mystery unravelling …

The first teen novel from Angharad Walker, author of critically-acclaimed The Ash House

Angharad’s writing evokes the clever, unique world-building and philosophical themes of Pullman’s His Dark Materials while remaining startlingly original

The story follows two sisters in a London-inspired city full of fantastical illness and sprawling, gothic hospitals where dark secrets linger beneath the surface

Praise for THE ASH HOUSE:

‘An unexpected – and pleasing – combination of propitious and disquieting.’ KIRKUS REVIEWS

‘Walker’s immersive story slowly reveals its secrets, using tension as a lever to tip the reader deep into the Ash House’s mysteries.’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

‘The book has allegorical chill that settles slowly, like damp seeping in . . . leaving readers with a feeling of ambiguous unease that may stir for a long time in the back of their minds like the after-effects of a nightmare.’ THEWALL STREET JOURNAL

Product Details

Catalogue number

1179 in SCB Offer December 2023

ISBN

9781912626984

Publisher

Chicken House Ltd

Date published

July 7th, 2022

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.8; Middle years plus; 9.0 points

Other details

  • 336 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought