Poetry Shortlist - The Laugh Out Loud Book Awards 2023

The Lollies shortlist 2023

We’re very excited to announce the Lollies shortlist for 2023! Our judges had a tough time choosing just four books per category, so we hope you are excited to read the shortlisted books and vote for your favourites.

Cast your vote
Daydreams & Jellybeans
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Daydreams and Jellybeans by Alex Wharton and Katy Riddell

From forgotten jellybeans to sparking daydreams, Alex’s poems, written for primary school age children, are both funny and thoughtful, and aim to spark familiarity and inclusion. And the illustrations from Katy Riddell will focus on the fun and dreamlike quality of the poems’ engagement with the natural world. These poems use rhyme, rhythm and free verse and are ideally suited to performance in a school setting, nurturing a love of language, reading, confidence and self-expression.

Midnight Magic: Mirror Mischief
gbp prices
Offer price: £3.99
Rewards/RRP: £5.99
Product ordering

Midnight Magic: Mirror Mischief by Michelle Harrison and Elissa Elwick

Black cats born at midnight Are different indeed A mischievous, odd And peculiar breed.

Who says that two magical cats are better than one?

When Trixie is at school one day, Midnight gets up to some mischief with the bathroom mirror and brings her reflection to life! The mirror-Midnight causes all sorts of chaos ‒ safely on the other side of the glass. That is, until Twiggy the broomstick accidentally smashes the mirror, setting the destructive double free!

As Trixie, Dad and Nan get tangled up in the turmoil, can they work together and send the badly behaved magical cat back to where it came from before it’s too late?

A bewitching new series from the best-selling author of A Pinch of Magic, Michelle Harrison. Told in rhyming verse and illustrated in colour throughout, this is perfect for readers of Squishy McFluff, Hubble Bubble and Gobbolino.

This is NOT a Unicorn!
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

This is NOT a Unicorn! by Barry Timms and Ged Adamson

Get ready for a magical and hilarious adventure about the most fantastic unicorn EVER!

This book is NOT about a unicorn! Well . . . OK, maybe it is! But THIS unicorn has a horn that can turn into the most incredible things – a magic wand, a helicopter, even a space rocket! Join the hilarious adventure and prepare to be amazed by your brilliant new friend.

With wonderful wordplay and a funny and sweet friendship at its heart, this is NOT a unicorn book to be missed!

This fabulously funny story has stacks of appeal for both girls and boys – watch out for rockets, rainbows, helicopters, massive fish, ice cream sundaes and magical adventures.

Yapping Away
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Yapping Away by Joshua Seigal and Sarah Horne

Joshua Seigal, winner of the 2020 Laugh Out Loud Book Awards (the only UK prize for funny children’s books voted for entirely by children), brings his raucous humour, creativity and wit to another brilliant collection of poems. Ideal for fans of Michael Rosen, this book will delight all young readers and fans of funny books.

From hilarious to heartfelt poems – and everything in between – this collection offers something for everyone. Discover the eight steps for having a successful tantrum, and why you should NEVER attend a Teddy Bear’s Picnic (you have been warned). Packed full of fun illustrations by Sarah Horne, and covering a range of imaginative topics, Yapping Away is the perfect follow-up to Joshua Seigal’s prize-winning collection I Bet I Can Make You Laugh.

Buy the shortlist

See more