Book of the Month

Every month our Book Club editors choose a Book of the Month for each age range – the perfect stories to share at home or in the classroom. Here are our children’s book experts’ top picks for August 2022.

Bluey: Camping

Ages 0–2 Book of the Month

Bluey Camping by Bluey

“Our Book of the Month for children aged 0+ is Bluey: Camping, a new instalment in the wildly successful animated series Bluey. Join Bluey as she goes camping with her family, and she soon makes a new friend named Jean-Luc! Even though there is a language barrier, they have fun planting fruit trees, hunting a wild pig, and much more! This lovely book is all about the magic of friendship and building relationships despite our differences.

Through the use of familiar and well-loved characters this picture book encourages young children to engage with, and develop a love for, story time. With vibrant illustrations and an accessible storyline this tile is perfect for your child’s entry into reading, promoting word recognition and vocabulary skills.”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


When Ice Cream Had a Meltdown (DNFO)
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Ages 3–4 Book of the Month

When Ice Cream Had a Meltdown by Michelle Robinson and Tom Knight

“Our Book of the Month pick for children aged 3+ is When Ice Cream Had a Meltdown, a brand new title from the hilarious author-illustrator duo Michelle Robinson and Tom Knight. They have teamed up to create another laugh-out-loud picture book, perfect for children who were fans of When Cucumber Lost his Cool, The Day the Banana Went Bad, and When Jelly Had a Wobble!

Ice Cream lives her life in the ice cream van, an incredibly exciting place to be! However, as Ice Cream sees friend after friend picked before her… Ice Cream has a MELTDOWN! With humorous illustrations, this is a picture book that even reluctant readers will love and is sure to become a favourite at bedtime. Lively rhyming text encourages children to read-along and further develop their reading and vocabulary skills.”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


The Bad Guys 2 Colour Edition
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Ages 5–6 Book of the Month

Bad Guys 2 Colour Edition by Aaron Blabey

“Our Book of the Month pick for children aged 5+ is Bad Guys 2, the second instalment by award-winning creator Aaron Blabey – now in full colour! This title is perfect for fans of the first title and for fans of the film, bringing popular characters back for even more adventures.

They sound like the Bad Guys, they look like the Bad Guys … and they even smell like the Bad Guys. But Mr Wolf, Mr Piranha, Mr Snake and Mr Shark are about to change all of that – whether you want them to or not! Follow them on their next mission as they attempt to rescue 10,000 chickens from a high-tech cage farm, going up against sizzling lasers, one feisty tarantula, and their very own Mr Snake!

With illustrations throughout providing exciting and engaging content, this is a great title for reluctant readers. A great new series for those who loved Dog Man and Captain Underpants!

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


Don't Tell Mum I Made a Mammoth
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Ages 7–8 Book of the Month

Don’t Tell Mum I Made a Mammoth by Kita Mitchell

“Our book of the month for children aged 7+ is Don’t Tell Mum I Made a Mammoth, which is a hilarious book about eco-activism gone wild! Percy’s parents are environmental activist and he is not interested at all – he would rather play on his Xbox than go on demonstration marches every weekend. When Percy’s mum invents a machine that can bring extinct animals back into existence and suddenly everybody is trying to get their hands on it, Percy is roped into a crazy adventure where he learns to truly appreciate what his parents are fighting so hard for.

This is a brilliantly funny story with strong environmental themes perfect for getting kids talking about extinction, climate change and what we can do to protect our planet.”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


My Dad is Definitely not a crime lord (cover)
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Ages 9–10 Book of the Month

My Dad is Definitely Not a Crime Lord by Ben Davis

“Our book of the month for children aged 9+ is My Dad is Definitely Not a Crime Lord, by the award-winning author Ben Davis. In this silly story, Damien and his family have gone into witness protection after Dad – a famous gangster – turned Queen’s evidence. Now Damien, whose new name is ‘Finn’, has to get used to life on the council estate without all the luxuries he has been used to.

In a hilarious twist, Damien ends up teaming up with Star Kid who works to protect the estate from bullies. All is going well until one evening they catch Dad, who has once again turned to crime! This is a funny and heartfelt novel about friendship and family – and where the limits are for both. It is a great pick for reluctant readers as the story is silly, funny and engaging throughout.”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


All the Pieces of Me
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Ages 11+ Book of the Month

All The Pieces of Me by Libby Scott and Rebecca Westcott

“Our book of the month for children aged 11+ is All the Pieces of Me, which is the fourth book in the bestselling ‘Can You See Me?’ series by bestselling duo Libby Scott and Rebecca Westcott. Following the same format of the previous books, All the Pieces of Me is written using Libby’s authentic diary entries about growing up with autism. Tally is now in Year 9 and facing new problems such as make-up, boys, social media and GCSE prep. Although Tally has always known that being autistic means some things are harder for her than other people, becoming a teenager has left Tally feeling like she has no idea who she is anymore.

This brilliant book is a great tool to use in order to help children gain a deeper understanding of what being autistic truly means. It is perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy and Wonder.”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


Cuts Both Ways
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Teen Book of the Month

Cuts Both Ways by Candice Brathwaite

“Our Teen book of the month for August is Cuts Both Ways by bestselling author Candice Brathwaite. It follows 16-year-old Cynthia, a young Black girl from London, as her family move to the countryside after her brother is brutally murdered. The biggest culture shock is her transition to private school, where she finds herself torn between head boy Thomas, who is white, and his adopted brother Isaac, who is Black. Although she’s falling for Isaac, her father would rather she was with someone like Thomas instead, someone who will be ‘better for her future prospects’. When it turns out both brothers have been keeping secrets from her that link back to what happened in London, Cynthia will learn that love is never just black and white…

This sharp and authentic young adult love story brings to the forefront important issues such as race, class and the complexities of growing up Black in Britain today. It will make you laugh one minute and cry the next. Cuts Both Ways is told from the perspective of those who are left behind after such tragic events and shines a light on the prejudice they are subjected to. The text is accessible, gritty and authentic, making this the perfect book to use as a tool to spark discussions amongst teens about these important issues that are very much still prevalent. It’s perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Elizabeth Acevedo and Danielle Jawando. Previously a bestselling adult author, this is Candice’s first foray into YA and we could not be more excited to add her fiction debut to our “to be read” pile!”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


Browse all August Books of the Month