Book of the Month

Every month our Book Club editors choose a Book of the Month for each age range – the perfect stories to share at home or in the classroom. Here are our children’s book experts’ top picks for April 2021.

Baby Touch: Happy Eid!
gbp prices
Offer price: £3.99
Rewards/RRP: £5.99
Product ordering

Ages 0–2 Book of the Month

Baby Touch: Happy Eid!

“With Eid on the horizon, I thought I would showcase this fun little board book in anticipation. Babies love stimulation and interaction and sharing words and pictures helps crucial brain development. Snuggling up and spending special time together is such a treat, and by sharing this book and encouraging your child to respond, you are helping them to spark their sensory development, enhance motor skills and even build their vocabulary. It features simple, bright pictures but the real selling point for me is the tactile pieces on every spread for little fingers to touch and explore.

The perfect way to introduce even the youngest members of the family to this special festival.”

Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6
Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6

When Jelly Had a Wobble (PB)
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Ages 3–4 Book of the Month

When Jelly Had a Wobble by Michelle Robinson and Tom Knight

“In my mind, all great read-alouds have a little extra special something that makes them irresistible to kids. You know the ones I mean – you have to read them on repeat! This book has just that – it’s funny, it’s warm, it’s infectious and it has a great little read-aloud refrain running through it with an ultimate underlying message that it is fine to be you.

In this rhyming story, Poor Jelly learns that everyone feels shy and anxious sometimes and we all have little ‘wobbles’ – and that is fine, as friends love and support you for who you are. Themes of friendship, empathy, empowerment and dealing with anxiety underpin Michelle’s clever text: she really is a master at injecting fun and laughter into her tales (she won our very own Lollies award, after all) and Tom’s characters have HUGE kid appeal, (who knew food had such lovable and expressive faces?)

Big on fun with a strong message – I’m giving this 11/10! It gives me vibes of Ruby’s Worry with shades of Supertato. It even has a super-foily cover and it’s already flying up our sales charts!”

Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6
Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6

Pip and Egg (PB)
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Ages 5–6 Book of the Month

Pip & Egg by Alex Latimer and David Litchfield

“If you are looking for a book about the enduring power of friendship, let me introduce you to the adorable Pip and Egg. This book is an exploration of what it is to have a friend and to share experiences, to grow as individuals as nature intends and the subsequent varying paths that may lead you down (including the shifts and changes in friendship that may entail).

These two characters will nestle in your heart like a bird in the nest – they certainly have in mine. It’s extremely heartfelt but ultimately uplifting. I confess I may have had a little lump in my throat at the end… David Litchfield’s amazing art-style brings a warmth and timeless feel to the story and you may recognise his style from the award-winning The Bear and the Piano.”

Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6
Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6

Britain's Biggest Star.. is Dad?
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Ages 7–8 Book of the Month

Britain’s Biggest Star is… Dad? by Ivor Baddiel

“My Book of the Month for children aged 7 and over is Ivor Baddiel’s brilliant debut, Britain’s Biggest Star is… Dad?, perfect for fans of David Walliams, Tom Fletcher, and of course David Baddiel.

Britain’s Biggest Star is… Dad? is a hilarious “whodunnit” about two kids trying to save the UK’s top TV talent show from a mysterious saboteur!

Packed with laughs and surprising twists, kids will go crazy for this spy escapade. At the same time it is heart-warming and full of joy and family values. Comedy writer Baddiel is someone who really knows the backstage life on Britain’s favourite TV shows, so is the perfect author for a fast-paced caper set within the country’s favourite talent show – Britain’s Biggest New Star.

Plus, the book includes wonderful black and white illustrations throughout by James Lancett!”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Fly High Crew
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Ages 9–10 Book of the Month

Fly High Crew: The Green Glow by Ashley Banjo and Jordan Banjo

“For children aged 9 and over, my Book of the Month pick has to be Fly High Crew: The Green Glow!

This is the debut book from TV personalities and Diversity street dance superstar brothers Ashley and Jordan Banjo, written in collaboration with Alexandra Sheppard. It tells the story of brothers Trey and Jax, who spend after-school rehearsing with their street dance collective the Fly High Crew. Suddenly one evening they see a green beam of light flash out of the sky – aliens have landed and are mind-controlling all the teachers and adults! Can the Fly High Crew work together as a team and save the day?

The readers are thrown into this action packed, out-of-this-world adventure from the very first page. It’s laugh-out-loud, high-energy, but at the same time a heart-warming story of a brave group of friends who must work together as a team.

The story will hook boys and girls alike, especially fans of Alesha Dixon, Tom Fletcher and Roman Kemp & Vick Hope. It’s also full of fantastic art by Dionna Gary Bunn to really immerse even non-traditional readers in the world of Fly High Crew! The inspirational and life like relatable characters will also engage all readers.”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Silence is Not An Option: You can impact the world for change
gbp prices
Offer price: £9.99
Rewards/RRP: £14.99
Product ordering

Ages 11+ Book of the Month

Silence is Not an Option by Stuart Lawrence

“For ages 11 and over, my Book of the Month is the ground-breaking Silence is Not an Option by Stuart Lawrence. The younger brother of Stephen Lawrence – the young man who, on 22 April 1993 at the age of just 18, was murdered in an unprovoked racist attack – Stuart Lawrence has dedicated his life to helping to transform the lives of young people for the better.

Lawrence talks about what he has learned from life – the tools that have helped him live positively and kept him moving forwards when times have been tough. He focuses on how Silence is NEVER an option, how we should always strive to stand up, speak out and be the difference. As an educator and motivational speaker, Lawrence is able to encourage people to harness the good in themselves and the world around them for positive change.

There are so many amazing non-fiction books by incredible authors out there that address racism and highlight how to turn your live around, but they are incomparable to the first-hand experience that Lawrence can provide and draw upon for this title. This book is essential for all readers, and a necessary addition to any school library.”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

The Gilded Ones
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £8.99
Product ordering

Teen Book of the Month

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

“Finally, for my April Book of the Month for Teens I have chosen the astounding The Gilded Ones. This must-read, epic fantasy debut from Namina Forna has already taken the world by storm and was a New York Times bestseller. In Otera, a West African-inspired world, a woman’s worth is tied to her purity and she must bleed to prove it. But when our protagonist Deka bleeds gold – the colour of demons – she faces a choice: an eternity of torture and deaths, or to become a warrior…

The Gilded Ones is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo and Black Panther. This fierce fantasy has a huge feminist angle throughout the plot, from the deeply patriarchal kingdom, to the strong sisterhood of the warriors, and the all-powerful female ancestors. Forna creates a captivating world that completely absorbs the reader, leaving them inspired, ambitious and in awe.”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Browse all April Books of the Month

  • Baby Touch: Happy Eid! Baby Touch: Happy Eid!

    Book of the month

    gbp prices
    Offer price: £3.99
    Rewards/RRP: £5.99
    Product ordering
  • When Jelly Had a Wobble When Jelly Had a Wobble

    Book of the month

    gbp prices
    Offer price: £4.99
    Rewards/RRP: £6.99
    Product ordering
  • Pip and Egg Pip and Egg

    Book of the month

    gbp prices
    Offer price: £4.99
    Rewards/RRP: £6.99
    Product ordering
  • Britain's Biggest Star ... Is Dad? Britain's Biggest Star ... Is Dad?

    Book of the month

    gbp prices
    Offer price: £4.99
    Rewards/RRP: £6.99
    Product ordering
  • Fly High Crew: The Green Glow Fly High Crew: The Green Glow

    Book of the month

    gbp prices
    Offer price: £4.99
    Rewards/RRP: £6.99
    Product ordering
  • Silence is Not An Option: You can impact the world for change Silence is Not An Option: You can impact the world for change

    Book of the month

    gbp prices
    Offer price: £9.99
    Rewards/RRP: £14.99
    Product ordering
  • The Gilded Ones The Gilded Ones

    Book of the month

    gbp prices
    Offer price: £5.99
    Rewards/RRP: £8.99
    Product ordering